Edappally Sangeetha Sadas

For real music lovers

A responsible organization to cater to the needs of true music lovers and to preserve the rich tradition of the classical music is essential for a commercial city like Kochi. Edappally Sangeetha Sadas was formed to fulfill that need. Sangeetha Sadas was  registered in 2004 under the Charitable Societies Act.

The inaugural music concert was held on 15th November 2004 which is traditionally observed as Muthaiah Bhagavatar Day.

Regular monthly music programmes  of rich quality are organized by the Sangeetha Sadas. In addition to staging musical concerts of known musicians, Edappally Sangeetha Sadas gives opportunities to the new talents also. On an average 40 musical programmes are held every year. This is a record which has earned it the prestigious ‘Keli Puraskaram’ from the Kerala Sangeetha Nataka Academy.

Apart from the monthly programmes, Sangeetha Sadas takes every opportunity that comes its way to provide sumptuous musical feast to its members and other music lovers. Thus Muthaiah Bhagavathar Day, Dikshithar Day, Thygaraja  araadhana, Swathi Thirunal Day, Neyyatinkara Vasudevan Anusmaranam  and Mohammed Rafi Day are observed with dedication and zeal.

Navaratri Festival is celebrated on all nine days with variety of music programmes. The annual music festival, Edappally Sangeetholsavam, in which reputed musicians perform, has become an attraction of music lovers from far off places also.

As a respectful homage to the great musician Neyyatinkara Vasudevan, whose untimely demise was a big loss to the contemporary Carnatic music, Sangeetha Sadas has instituted an endowment fund in his name. The amount generated by the fund is used to give an award every year to a  deserving musician selected by a jury. The award, Neyyattinkara Vasudevan puraskaram, giving ceremony and the music concert followed has been a major event of Sangeetha sadas which attracts lot of music lovers.

Kalamandalam Kesavan was patron of the Sangeetha Sadas from the very beginning till his untimely death in 2009.

B. Rajagopala Menon

P.R. Nair

K. Madhavan Pillai

Governing Council of Edappally Sangeetha Sadas

Prof. K. Jayalakshmi – Patron
B. Rajagopala Menon – President
C. Somanathan Nair – Vice President
P.R. Nair – Secretary
K.M.Ramadasan – Jt. Secretary
K.Madhavan Pillai – Treasurer


K.M.R. Pillai 
Vasumathy Varma
Priya R.Pai
P.P. Balachandran
K.K. Madhusudanan Nair
G. Sai Raj Member
K.M. Udayan
Prof. R. Kamakshi
P.K. Krishnan
T.S. Sasikumar
M.K. Murali
P.S reelatha
P.K. Ravindranatha Menon
Y. Raghavan